SPP 1530: Flowering Time Control - from Natural Variation to Crop Improvement

III. International PP1530 Symposium: Genetic Variation of Flowering Time Genes and Applications for Crop Improvement: March 14-16, 2018

The timing of flowering relies on a complex network of genetic and regulatory pathways and the integration of a variety of environmental cues. In the past years we have gained increasing knowledge of flowering time regulation in Arabidopsis thaliana and numerous crop species. Flowering time regulators are important for crop plant domestication and adaptation to different environments. Their pleiotropic effects can impact important traits such as yield and stress tolerance. Moreover, the phenological development of a plant can be drastically altered by mutation and genetic modification of major flowering time regulators. We welcome contributions for oral presentations and posters from model species and any kind of cultivated plants, including annual and biennial species used in agriculture and horticulture, fruit trees and forest trees.

Conference Venue: Wissenschaftszentrum Kiel, Fraunhoferstraße 13, 24118 Kiel, Germany

Keynote Speakers:

Rishikesh P. Bhalerao, Sweden

Seth Davis, UK

Andrea Eveland, USA

Takeshi Izawa, Japan

Zachary Lippman, USA

Elliot Meyerowitz, USA

Ben Trevaskis, Australia



For registration please fill out the registration form and send it to Nadine Höft (n.hoeft@plantbreeding.uni-kiel.de) until February 1st.

Registration form


Abstract submission:

Please submit an abstract for poster presentation. The scientific committee will review all abstracts and a limited number will be selected for oral presentations. Oral and poster presentations will be selected by the end of February 2018. Presenting authors will be informed by e-mail whether the abstract was accepted and if yes, what session it was assigned to. Presentations on site should be held in English.

Submission of abstracts: February 15th, 2018


Conference Fee:

The conference fee includes admission to all sessions, all meals, refreshments and a conference dinner as indicated in the program.

non-PP1530 members: 130€

PP1530 members:  50€


Scientific organizing commitee: Christian Jung, Kiel (c. jung@plantbreeding.uni-kiel.de), Dorothee Staiger (Bielefeld), Klaus Pillen (Halle), Ivo Grosse (Halle), Maria von Korff Schmising (Düsseldorf/Cologne), Nadine Höft, Kiel (n.hoeft@plantbreeding.uni-kiel.de), Antje Jakobeit (Kiel)

Contact: Dr. Nadine Höft (n.hoeft@plantbreeding.uni-kiel.de)

Latest Events